biographynewsperformancesreviewsarticlesworksdiscographyscorespress kitcontact

Steven Gerber passed away on May 28, 2015.

The Steven R. Gerber Trust has been established, and is dedicated to the preservation and promotion of the music of Steven Gerber through the support and creation of projects, programs, and initiatives which elevate exposure to, increase interest in, and highlight aspects of, the composer's work.

For more information, please contact them at

The Steven R. Gerber Trust has begun a 3-year relationship with the London Sinfonietta and its Academy, whereby the Trust will support the training of young musicians in contemporary music performance, integrating Gerber's compositions into the program curriculum.

Haverford College (Gerber's alma mater) has archived all of the composer's manuscripts and personal materials and they are now available for research and biographical use and reference at the College Library. This collection contains five series: “Compositions,” “Business,” “Personal,” “Other Composers,” and “Audiovisual.” The Compositions series consists of nine subseries, all related to Gerber compositions. The first six subseries are divided by the type of musical work, including “Orchestral,” “Chamber,” “Vocal,” “Choral,” “Piano,” and “Other Solo.”

In 2018, Fresh Inc Festival's emerging composers wrote writing pieces responding to Steven Gerber's interest in folk sources in more than one of his compositions. (Fresh Inc is run by Chicago's Fifth House Ensemble). Funds from the Gerber Trust helped offset composer tuition expenses and allowed the Festival to accept 24 composer participants for the first time rather than 16. Gerber's Five Greek Folksongs and Three Folksong Transformations served as centerpieces of some of the June festival's final concerts at Fresh Inc, surrounded by 24 new works inspired by his example.

In December 2017, The League of Composers/ISCM awarded two composers the Steven R. Gerber Composition Prize - Gra-V for fl/bass fl, cl/bass cl, vn, vc, perc, pf, by Vasiliki Krimitza and DEPO FLUX: concerto grosso for vn, va, cb, a.sax, elec. gtr, & ch. orch, by Ken Steen.

[details and more news]
Presenting "Three Little Duets" (2011), a group of short, fairly simple piano pieces intended for students of all ages. The score is available here in its entirety as a free PDF download.
Now playing:
  Symphony No. 1, 1st mvmt.